Born in Germany 1952, Klaus Brucksch has studied and worked for many years as a scientist in Germany. When he migrated to Australia in the mid 1980s he conducted his own business as a stained glass artist, specialising in ecclesiastical designs and restorations. In the early nineties he developed a new form of glass fusing and created glass ornaments and jewellery with striking colours and great individuality.
In 2005, Klaus moved from a 20 year Tasmanian experience, where most of his stained glass art windows can be observed, to Kuranda, another rainforest paradise.
Today Klaus produces his unique fused glass windows and paintings in close contact with local aboriginal artists.
Major stained glass commissions:
‘Path of Life’ (6 windows) – Strathhaven Retirement Home Chapel, Strathglen, Hobart, TAS
‘Kirby Memorial Window’ – St David’s Cathedral, Hobart, TAS
‘History of Time’ (before settlement till now, 8 pieces )- Public Bar ‘Knopwood’s Retreat’, Salamanca PLace, Hobart, TAS
‘Rainforest Scene’ – Forest & Heritage Centre, Geeveston, TAS
‘McDougall Memorial Window’ – St Patrick’s Church, Sandy Bay, TAS
6 Individual Memorial Windows – Catholic Church, St Marys, TAS
‘St Barbabas’ Path of Life’ & 3 Memorial Windows – St Barnabas Church, Scottsdale, TAS,
6 Individual Memorial Windows, Catholic Church, St Helens, TAS
‘St Mark’s Window’ – St Mark Church, Bridport, TAS
9 years participation in the yearly ‘Deloraine Craft Fair’, TAS – 1996 to 2004.
Feature article in the ‘Craft Arts International’ No. 36, 1994
Recent large stained glass works:
“Riverland” – inspired by a painting form aboriginal artist Steven Simon, QLD – 2013
“The Kiss” – an interpretation of Gustav Klimt’s famous painting into stained glass art, QLD – 2015
All art works are signed with ‘Kapé / ….(year)….
Click here for products available in the shop
Contact Klaus directly at firstname.lastname@example.org or email@example.com .
Fused and Stained Glass after an aboriginal painting by Steven Simon (1500 x 780 mm), 2013.
In memory of Father Brian Mattingley, Anglican Church of Bridport, Tasmania 1992. Approx 2.5 x 3.2 meters.